Mission Statement:
Shiawassee County Road Commission employees provide quality and innovative services as we ensure that the roads in Shiawassee County are reasonably safe for public travel. We will seek continuous improvements in quality and service to our customer, the residents of Shiawassee County and the traveling public.

Road Commission
Board Members:

Mike Constine

Ric Crawford
John A Michalec

Managing Director:
Brent P Friess

Today's Road Closures:

Vincent Road between Huff Road and Epton Road Wednesday, June 23, 2021 7am-3pm (replace culvert)

Carland Road between Juddville Road and Wilkinson Road beginning Thursday, May 20, 2021 through July 31, 2021. Detour Juddville Road to Vincent Road to Wilkinson Road **LOCAL TRIFFIC ONLY**

Austin Road bridge between Simpson Road and Krouse Road, is closed indefinitely beginning Wednesday, April 1, 2020. Click here for detour route.

Miller Road between Vernon Road and Reed Road Thursday, April 8, 2021-UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE

Parmenter Road between McNeil Street and Escott Road Wednesday April 21, 2021 DETOUR: McNeil Street to State Road to Hibbard Road THIS IS A CITY OF CORUNNA CLOSURE

WHAT: Roadside herbicide spraying
ISSUE DATE: April 9, 2021
WHEN: Beginning April 26, 2021-October 31, 2021
WHERE: Antrim, Bennington, Burns, Caledonia Charter, Fairfield, Hazelton, Middlebury, New Haven, Owosso Charter, Perry, Rush, Sciota, Shiawassee, Venice, Vernon, and Woodhull Townships in Shiawassee County
BACKGROUND: The Shiawassee County Road Commission (SCRC) will begin its roadside herbicide spraying program in Antrim, Bennington, Burns, Caledonia Charter, Fairfield, Hazelton, Middlebury, New Haven, Owosso Charter, Perry, Rush, Sciota, Shiawassee, Venice, Vernon, and Woodhull Townships. (Townships will not be sprayed in this order).
Specifically trained, licensed and experienced professionals will selectively apply the herbicides to specific vegetation that could create a driving hazard along the roadside within the road right-of-way. The herbicides will be applied with a tractor mounted spray unit.
The operation is not a continuous broadcast spray - only roadside areas with existing brush and limbs near the roadway will be sprayed. This spot spraying along local (non-subdivision roads) and primary roads is done on a rotating basis in the county throughout the spring, summer and fall.
Property owners who would rather not have brush sprayed along the roadside of their property must clear brush and limbs along the roadside at a minimum fourteen feet up and fourteen feet away from the edge of the road immediately. For more details about opting out of the herbicide spraying program and information about the SCRC's roadside brush control program, see here.
CONTACT: If you have any questions concerning this work, please contact:
Troy Howes, Superintendent of Operations
Shiawassee County Road Commission
701 W. Corunna Avenue
Corunna, MI 49917
(989) 743-2228

The next Board Meeting will be open to the public and held on July 13, 2021 at 7:30am at the Shiawassee County Road Commission.

The Shiawassee County Road Commission offices are located at:

701 West Corunna Avenue
Corunna, Michigan 48817-1229

Phone: 989-743-2228
Fax: 989-743-5008
Email: generalmail@shiawasseeroads.com

Summer Hours (Second full week in April until the first full week in November):
Monday-Thursday 6:00 am to 4:00 pm

Winter Hours (First full week in November until the second full week in April):
Monday-Friday 7:00 am to 3:30 pm

(If you have a comment or complaint that is time-sensitive please phone, e-mail is not checked daily).

text-only version : search shiawasseeroads.com

©2001 Shiawassee County RoadCommission






Processing Fee Will be Charged